Adjusting my goals and calendar

English: Illustration from Lessons in Geography.
Image via Wikipedia

Now that I’m becoming more acquainted with my resources, a shift in my schedule is in order.  Though I was hoping I had “nailed” my initial calender, I knew I would have to make some adjustments.

1. Pimsleur is really easy.  The CDs work to drum a few likely sentences into your head.  The CDs make them almost impossible to forget after listening twice.  A third time is a little crazy-making.  (They are basic survival phrases, “Excuse me, ma’am. How are you?  I know a little Farsi, but I can’t speak very well.  I don’t understand.  Is Zafar Street here?  Thank you very much.”  Hope that the answers don’t go beyond “yes” and “no”!)

I can listen to Pimsleur walking to and from the bus, library, gym, etc.  It’s easy to do that for 20 minutes a day, and more if I work out at the gym.  So I changed from one lesson a week to two.  That means it will take me less than two months to get through all 14 lessons.  I found the next set, so I should be through both by April.

2. Livemocha is super time-intensive.  They have writing exercises where I have to look up tons of words.  I also like to spend some time giving back to the community by checking some English, so that takes some time.  I’m slowing down on this resource.

There are four exercise (101, 102, 201, 202), and each has three units, and each unit has five to six lessons.  I’m going to try to get through two lessons a week.

3. I’ve added blogging to my schedule.  I want to blog twice a week.

4. My work situation has changed.  I started back teaching this week.  My time for study and computer-time shifts dramatically.  So I have to be sensitive to that shift.  I should not expect to work the same way when my time is already committed for other responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

