Here is someone who is careful and methodical with how she uses time and multiple resources. I think this approach is essential for learning a language on one’s own.

DIY language

狡兔三窟 or jiǎ tù sān kū means a rabbit should have three holes to hide from the enemy.  In other words,  don’t put all your eggs in one basket.

I am going to explore the need to diversify your portfolio. Learning Chinese is an investment and I have invested a lot of time and money in Chinese. It all started in 1996. I bought my first Chinese learning book ‘méthode 90 pour débutant’ (Chinese for beginners).  It is a slightly difficult book for true beginners in spite of that it is a comprehensive course with 6 CDs for 45 euro. In 2008, I bought four more books that cost approximately 150 pounds sterling at Foyles in London and Today I am subscribed to Chinese 101. Money wise, I have spent exactly £350 on Chinese learning ‘potions and creams’. I am more than happy with these books and my greatest…

View original post 478 more words

Leave a Reply

