How to re-start learning a language

Get ready to get back on the horse!
Get ready to get back on the horse!

It’s easy to get off track in one’s language learning (unless you’re one of the lucky few who gets paid to do so).  Work projects become demanding, kids’ schedules take up time, and the spring cleaning needs to get done somehow.  I found myself in this situation over the past couple months; I got off track.  But languages always pull me back.  Fortunately, I’ve thought for a long time about methods for learning languages, and a few of my favorite on-line language-lovers offer good advice that got me going again.  The two pieces of advice that helped a lot: 1) work a little every day and 2) passive learning is important.

No shame in falling off the horse

I admit that I got out of the daily habit of setting aside time for my languages.  This happens to everyone.  I am not independently wealthy, so I spend a lot of time working.  I do not work professionally with languages, so I have to find the time amidst my spare time.  As we all know, spare time ebbs and flows; we have little control over how much we have.  Many voices call out for our spare time, as well.  Family, community, and relaxation all require some of our time–and that’s after coming home from work.

Nevertheless, I want back up on the language horse I fell off of.  I needed to find a way to work on my languages amidst all these demands.  So I recalled some great things I’ve learned from the web.

Everyday language-learning

Aaron Myers at the Everyday Language Learner site constantly reminded me via his Twitter feed (@aarongmyers) to do something every day.  I love the name of his blog because the double-meaning fits me perfectly.  I need to learn languages “every day,” plus I’m a simple, garden-variety “everyday” language learner with cares, demands, and responsibilities like everyone else.

Finding 30 minutes to figure out what exercise I should do, though, was more than I could do.  Learning every day was too much.  So I was hardly learning anything.  This was demoralizing and out-of-character for me.  I had to learn how to do something every day, even if it was 5 minutes.

Passive learning jump-started my active learning

Passive learning allowed me to start up right away with little concentration and commitment, and then it led me easily–and unexpectedly–to more active study.  Steve Kaufmann, who blogs and vlogs about language-learning, advocates passive language input, which will aid language-learning when one turns to more active methods.  While I’m not beginning my language, I thought taking a passive-learning approach for now would help.

The BBC offers a one-hour daily news digest in Farsi, and I challenged myself this week to listen to the whole thing every day.  It’s certainly over my head, but it’s well-produced and discussing topics I already know a little about.  I listened a little in the morning while brushing my teeth, during my commute, and during some of my workouts.  Though I didn’t make it all the way through every episode, and on a couple days I listened to the last few minutes while I was falling asleep at night, I still benefited.  I was remembering words I thought I had forgotten and I looked up words occasionally.  My mind turned again towards Farsi–exactly what I’d hoped for!

On Saturday, then, I started using the great learning app, Anki.  This app soups up my old flash cards.  It offers universal accessibility–platforms for PC (Windows and Linux), Android, and on-line–and keeps track of what words I know best.  It also reminds me when it’s time to study.  Creating new cards I find the hardest, but the application makes it easy to cut and paste from emails, articles, or Google Translate.  I can also tag the source of my word.  Thanks to Anki, I spent 10 minutes in bed this morning reviewing some words, in addition to the 25 minutes (so far today) of listening to the BBC.  I’m back!

Quantity, not quality

Of course, the quality of your language-learning materials are important, but quantity got me back up into language-learning.  Doing something–anything–every day not only helped my language knowledge but also my motivation.  It’s easy to lose focus when life is busy, but 10 minutes that’s over your head is better than nothing.

Another thing I learned was that searching for quality input is important, but can’t stand in the way of practice.  When I’m looking for material more than I’m praticing, I’ve lost my balance.  I can tend to be a perfectionist, so I have to beware of this balance.  “Just do it!” has to be my motto.

This coming week, I’m going to try more of the same.  I’ll listen to the Persian BBC podcast as well as work my Anki cards as much as possible.  We’ll see where I end up.

Are you languishing in your language-study?  Did you fall off the horse?  What’s one thing you can do–even for one day–in the next day or two to work on your language?  Tweet this article and help spread the encouragement!

Photo credit: Eduardo Amorim / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

17 thoughts on “How to re-start learning a language

    1. Great! I’m happy my horse-mounting efforts is getting more than just me on the horse. I’m happy to hear you’re back at Portuguese.

      BTW I keep running into Brazilians on phone meetings. My time for Portuguese is probably coming!

      Like

  1. Nc Siavash

    و اگر بخواهیم نوشتن داستان های مینی مال را در انگلیسی شروع کنیم باید از کجا شروع کنیم و همین طور نوشتن آگهی

    Like

  2. I have used Anki before, and I think it’s great – love its timing algorithm. Although, if I had to be critical, I find the flashcard method a rather dry way to learn language. Which do you prefer personally: self learning or learning with others?

    Like

  3. Mehrin

    Ali Pirhani (polyglotcenter.ir) says you must practice speaking and listening everyday, even for 5 minutes. Otherwise you will get these skills weakened. But this rule doesn’t hold for other skills.

    Like

    1. ممنونم دوستم! I agree with Ali Pirhani’s statement. Practicing speaking every day, though, can be difficult when I don’t have speakers around. I’ll have to see what I can do, though, because what he says is correct.

      Like

      1. Mehrin

        خواهش می کنم.
        Do you know about him? He also says when you’re a beginner and you know some essential words, It contributes a lot to your speaking to choose words and define them aloud.

        Like

  4. Mehrin

    Ali Pirhani (polyglotcenter.ir) says you must practice speaking and listening everyday, even for 5 minutes. Otherwise you will get these skills weakened. But this doesn’t hold for other skills.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly favorites 97 (June 3-9) | Adventures in Freelance Translation

  6. Pingback: Japanese women discuss the pros and cons of being a guy’s first girlfriend ever | RocketNews24

Leave a Reply

