Learn Anyuak!

My first Anyuak teacher
My first Anyuak teacher

I was fortunate enough to meet someone finally from the Anyuak community. He was generous enough to teach me a few phrases, which I included below. I always encourage anyone on an ecolinguistic expedition to record and share what they discover.

We want to record more of this language in various media. What would you suggest?

Hello
How’s work?
I work at the airport.
I work at the airport (ver 2).
What’s your name?
My name is Omot.
My name is Richard.
My name is Richard (longer).
Nice to meet you.
Nice to meet you (fast).
Where are you coming from?
Where are you going?

Playlist of all these phrases.

Raw audio of my Anyuak session.

3 thoughts on “Learn Anyuak!

  1. Prof. Ephraim Isaac theorizes that though there is variation amongst Semitic and Cushitic languages in Ethiopia, they are closer than most experts make them seem.

    In “my name is Richard (longer)”, I hear “anee yengya richard”. I will propose an educated guess that “anee” in Anyuak is somehow related to “ane” in Ge’ez which means I or me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make a good point. Areal relationships among languages are a real phenomenon. BTW Anyuak is Nilotic, not Semitic or Cushitic. The latter are sisters in the Hamito-Semitic language family, while Nilotic is separate. Nevertheless, sharing some words would make plenty of sense.

      Like

  2. Hi there,

    Good recordings. The Anyuak language falls in the Luo group of languages. I’m a Luo from Kenya and could understand some of the words. We say, ‘nyingi en ng’a?’ – what is your name. ‘Nyinga en Richard’ – my name is Ricard. ‘Atiyo airport’ – I work at the airport.

    I’ve been populating a document with comparison words among Luo sub-tribes. I’d be glad if your Anyuak teacher could assist in filling out the document. Find it here:

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1f8E9X7KfJwF1_xeWNFje8xyIPVguh9IDsDEDnAEsC5w/edit#gid=0

    Regards

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

