What are your language stories?

What story do you need to tell?
What language story do you need to tell?

I have so many stories. I’ve told them here, but I haven’t worked to craft them in a nice way.

I’ve been listening to story-telling podcasts recently like “Snap Judgment” and “Homemade Stories”, and it’s been bugging me that I haven’t told any of my stories in a really interesting way.

Upon reflection, I realized that I haven’t heard many polyglots tell a lot of stories. How could that not be? Learning languages to a high level requires lots of adventures and failures—elements of great stories.

This realization motivates me to do two things:

  1. Put some stories down. I need to start writing down these stories in a nice way. I bumbled my way through so many situations, failing to understand and to be understood.
  2. Have some adventures. I want to have new adventures, too. I don’t just want to tell my 20+ year old stories.
Do you have some great languages stories? Please tell us your adventures! Do you know of polyglots who tell good stories? Let me know who to read/listen to!

Photo credit: The JH Photography via Foter.com / CC BY

5 thoughts on “What are your language stories?

  1. I am quite competitive and Amharic is a part of my identity, never before Christ Jesus, but still important. One Summer in Ethiopia my “cousin” (born and raised in Ethiopia) said he could speak English longer than I could speak Amharic. I said nonsense on stilts. He couldn’t last a day without reverting back to Amharic onomatopoeia and greetings. I went a week without speaking Amharic. This was in 2007. I think that was a pivotal moment in my language growth. I said, wow, even though I was born and raised in the US I can speak my parents’ tongue for a week without English. I don’t remember many dreams, and even today 90 plus % are in English, but I think I drempt a couple times exclusively in Amharic. I wonder which languages a polyglot dreams in and to what extent?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s a little funny when first-time language learners say, “I can’t wait until I start dreaming in the language. Then I’ll know I’ve learnt it.” The first time I heard that, I went, “What? I dream in other languages all the time. It doesn’t mean I can have a decent conversation in them when I’m awake.” I dream in other languages fairly early on in the language-learning process. Sometimes it’s just in that language, sometimes I swap between it and English or another language in my dream. I don’t really remember my dreams, but sometimes I wake up and go, “That was odd, I was talking in [X] in that dream…” I’m more likely to dream in another language if I’ve used it during the day, but I’d say that’s normal. I think I mostly dream in English, though, but that would probably be because I mostly speak in English.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Some (Mis)Adventures with Korean | Rachel's Ramblings

  3. Pingback: Giving up privilege with language-love – Loving Language

Leave a Reply

